Pier Paolo Pasolini: A Future Life

December 16th 2017 - January 17th 2019

Series site

"Filmmaker, poet, composer, public intellectual, and provocateur, Pier Paolo Pasolini was a cyclone of vitality, rebellion and, very often, contradictions: a Catholic and Communist; an urban, homosexual defender of traditional agrarian culture; a modernist with an eye to ancient myths. Pasolini created an oeuvre distinguished by an unerring eye for composition and tone and a stylistic fluidity that allowed him to work with equal potency within a variety of filmmaking traditions, from Neorealist-inflected verité to the savagely surrealist. Pasolini looms larger than ever in in our cultural consciousness as one of the most radical, uncompromising artists who ever lived. “Death,” he once said, “is not being unable to communicate; but no longer being able to be understood.” He is speaking to us still."—Metrograph

Past Screenings

  • The Witches (Le Streghe)
    Pier Paolo Pasolini, Vittorio De Sica, Luchino Visconti, Mauro Bolognini and Franco Rossi1967105 min35mm
    • Metrograph
      • Saturday Dec 167:00pm
      • Sunday Dec 178:15pm
      • Friday Jan 41:00pm10:15pm
      • Sunday Jan 64:15pm
      • Tuesday Jan 157:00pm
  • Salò, or the 120 Days of Sodom
    Pier Paolo Pasolini1975116 min35mm
    • Metrograph
      • Friday Jan 43:15pm8:00pm
      • Saturday Jan 510:00pm
      • Tuesday Jan 87:30pm
      • Saturday Jan 129:30pm
  • The Decameron
    Pier Paolo Pasolini1971112 min35mm
    • Metrograph
      • Friday Jan 45:45pm
      • Saturday Jan 52:00pm
      • Sunday Jan 66:30pm
      • Monday Jan 74:30pm9:30pm
      • Sunday Jan 139:00pm
  • Arabian Nights
    Pier Paolo Pasolini1974130 min35mm
    • Metrograph
      • Saturday Jan 54:15pm
      • Thursday Jan 178:30pm
  • The Canterbury Tales
    Pier Paolo Pasolini1972111 min
    • Metrograph
      • Sunday Jan 62:00pm8:45pm
      • Tuesday Jan 159:15pm